The log cabin was built by Fidelis and Euphrosine Schwendeman, who cam from Baden, Germany and married in 1835 at St. Charles Borromeo Church. The cabin was constructed originally on a farm in St. Peters, MO. As time passed a frame building was constructed around the cabin. When it was decided to tear down the structure, they found the cabin nestled inside. Glen Bishop offered to have the cabin moved to his property, the current location, in the 1980’s. The City of St. Charles named the portion of its Missouri riverfront area housing the Lewis & Clark Boat House and Nature Center Bishop’s Landing in Glen’s honor. The designation plaque was dedicated May 17, 2004. The Schwendeman family still thrives in the St. Charles area.
The Frenchtown neighborhood owes it name to the early French settlers who founded St. Charles and to our distinctive style of architecture. The district has the largest concentration of French Colonial style architecture in the Midwest. For this reason the district was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991. Several historic homes in the area still retain their summer kitchens: small detached brick buildings used for cooking, washing laundry, and smoking meats as well as brick carriage houses.